Knox Public Affairs Office
The General George Patton Museum and Center of Leadership’s restored World War II barracks will be unveiled during a ribbon cutting ceremony at 2 p.m. tomorrow in front of the barracks building. The barracks, formerly known as Bldg. 7050, was once one of about 1,000 63-man barracks on Fort Knox built between 1941 and 1945. The last of its kind, it was moved to the Patton Museum in May 2011. With the exception of the windows, hardwood floors, and exterior siding, the structure is original. The finished product looks today exactly as it did when it was constructed in the 1940s. Over the coming months, Patton Museum Foundation and museum staff will work to add replica items and antiques, giving patrons the opportunity to see what barracks life was like through the World War II and Vietnam eras. In keeping with the museum’s focus on Army leadership, the experience will teach lessons about the first step in every Soldier’s journey to becoming an effective leader—basic training.