.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Better Business Bureau alert: ‘Is this you?’ video scam

-A A +A

If you have received a Facebook message from your friend asking, “Is this you?” — don’t click any links! This recent scam has been circulating nationwide, and the Better Business Bureau serving Louisville, Kentucky, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky is advising consumers to watch out for this latest social media scam.

How the Scam Works

You receive a message on Facebook from a friend with
a video link. The sender asks,
“Is this you?” You click on the
link and are asked to log in to Facebook or YouTube to view the video. You enter in your username and password, but no video appears. Instead, you may have
just downloaded malware or
spyware onto your device.

The bureau provides the following tips to avoid this scam and others like it:

n Don’t click on any links. If you are not expecting a message with a link, it’s best to not click on it, even it if appears to be from a friend.

n Contact the sender directly. Just because the message appears to be from your friend doesn’t mean they actually sent it. Reach out to your friend directly by phone or email to see if they really did send the message. If they did not, their account may have been hacked.

n Keep software updated. Make sure that your anti-virus and anti-malware software is up-to-date.

For more consumer tips, visit bbb.org or call (800) 388-2222. n