Three FKHS seniors win $2,000 DeCA scholarship

-A A +A

The Defense Commissary Agency awarded $2,000 scholarships toward tuition at a four-year school to 10 military high school seniors. Three of the seniors were from Fort Knox High School and the remaining were from Elizabethtown, Ky., as well as schools from Lexington, Ky., Taylorsville, Ky., Crestwood, Ky., and Jeffersonville, Ind.
Scholarships were open to qualified sons and daughters of U.S. military ID card holders to include active duty, retirees, and Guard/ Reserve. To qualify, applicants had to have 3.0 GPA, write an essay that demonstrates critical thinking and provide examples of community involvement and extracurricular activities.
The awardees are as follows:
Christina Rice, Tony Bell and Richard Thackrey- Fort Knox; Tyler Farquhar- Lexington, Ky.; Hannah Kingsbury- Louisville, Ky.; Shayna Sagadraca and Amber Vincent-Elizabethtown, Ky.; Megan Hayes- Taylorsville, Ky.; Dennis Rumpel-Jeffersonville, Ind.; and Luke Ander-son-Crestwood, Ky.